Beach Cleanups Tag

For Immediate Release, January 19, 2021 Contacts: Joanie Steinhaus, Turtle Island Restoration Network, joanie@seaturtles.org, 512-417-7741  Anna Farrell-Sherman, Environment Texas Research and Policy Center, afarrell-sherman@environmenttexas.org, 206-963-5083    Protections Expanded for Texas Gulf Corals and Manta Rays  AUSTIN—The Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary, the only known nursery in the world for manta...

For Immediate Release, January 1, 2021 Contacto: Rebekah Staub, Gerente de Comunicaciones, rstaub@seaturtles.org  Oportunidad de fondos para organizaciones sin fines de lucro que luchan contra los desechos marinos La organización ganadora se decidirá por votación pública. SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. — Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) ofrecerá un segundo fondo...

For Immediate Release, January 11, 2021 Contact: Joanie Steinhaus, Turtle Island Restoration Network, (512) 417-7741, joanie@seaturtles.org Jake Bleich, Defenders of Wildlife, (510) 882-1592, jbleich@defenders.org Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, (727) 490-9190, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org Chris Eaton, Earthjustice, (206) 343-7340, ceaton@earthjustice.org Feds to Be Sued for Weakening Sea Turtle Protections Fisheries Service Scales Back...

For Immediate Release, January 4, 2021 Contact: Todd Steiner, Executive Director, tsteiner@seaturtles.org Global Grant Opportunity Available for Nonprofits Combating Marine Debris Winning organization to be decided by public votes SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. — Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) will offer a second grant opportunity to nonprofit organizations around the...

For Immediate Release, January 2, 2021 Contact: Todd Steiner, Executive Director, tsteiner@seaturtles.org, 415-488-7652 Annalisa Tuel, Advocacy & Policy Manager, atuel@seaturtles.org, 408-621-8113 Trump Vetoes Bipartisan Bill to Protect Marine Life from Cruel Driftnets Bill would have banned fishing method that kills or injures protected marine species WASHINGTON — President Trump vetoed...

For Immediate Release, December 21, 2020 Contact: Todd Steiner, 415-488-7652, tsteiner@seaturtles.org Biden Urged to Sign Executive Order to End Extinction Crisis Proposed Order Would Launch Bold Actions to Protect Endangered Wildlife in New Administration’s First Weeks WASHINGTON— Turtle Island Restoration Network joined more than 135 groups today in calling...

For Immediate Release, December 29, 2020 Contact: Todd Steiner, tsteiner@seaturtles.org, 415-488-7652 Survey Confirms Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtles are Going Extinct  Illegal, unregulated, or insufficiently regulated fishing on the high seas cause of decline SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. — Leatherback sea turtles that forage off the U.S. West Coast are trending...