Sea Turtles

The Cocos-Galapagos Swimway is an underwater highway for sea turtles, sharks, and whales that connects Costa Rica’s Cocos Island National Park with Ecuador’s Galapagos Marine Reserve. Endangered and threatened marine species including whale sharks, green sea turtles, leatherback sea turtles, silky sharks, and scalloped hammerhead sharks use this...

For Immediate Release, September 14, 2020 Contact: Alex Hearn, Galapagos Whale Shark Project, ahearn@usfq.edu.ec  Todd Steiner, Turtle Island Restoration Network, tsteiner@seaturtles.org  Whale Shark Migrating from Galapagos Island to Cocos Island Documented for First Time For the first time in history, a group of scientists documented the complete...

For Immediate Release, August 28, 2020 Contact:Brett Loveman, Mission Blue, bloveman@missionblue.org Todd Steiner, Island Restoration Network, tsteiner@seaturtles.org  Environmental Groups Urge Costa Rica and Ecuador to Create World’s First Bilateral Marine Protected Area ECUADOR — Environmental groups Mission Blue and Turtle Island Restoration Network called on the Ministers of Environment...

For Immediate Release, August 20, 2020 Contact: Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, (727) 490-9190, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org Annalisa Tuel, Turtle Island Restoration Network, (408) 621-8113, ATuel@seaturtles.org Richard Whitecloud, Sea Turtle Oversight Protection, (954) 770-2344, richard.whitecloud@seaturtleop.net Federal Government Agrees to Protect Green Sea Turtle Habitat Florida Nesting Beaches, West Coast Sites Need Safeguards ST....

For Immediate Release, August 19, 2020 Contacts: Catherine Kilduff, Center for Biological Diversity, (202) 780-8862, CKilduff@BiologicalDiversity.org Annalisa Tuel, Turtle Island Restoration Network, (408) 621-8113, ATuel@SeaTurtles.org   California Moves to Protect Declining Leatherback Sea Turtles Prehistoric Reptiles Threatened by Fishing SACRAMENTO, Calif.— The California Fish and Game Commission voted 5-0 today to...

For Immediate Release, August 18, 2020   Contact: Annalisa Tuel, Turtle Island Restoration Network, (408) 621-8113, atuel@seaturtles.org Catherine Kilduff, Center for Biological Diversity, (202) 780-8862, CKilduff@BiologicalDiversity.org  California to Hold Hearing on Listing Pacific Leatherbacks Under State Endangered Species Act SACRAMENTO, Calif. — California wildlife officials are accepting public comments...

Scalloped hammerheads (Sphyrna lewini) swim off the coast of Cocos Island. Photo by Avi Klapfer. Written by Mariano Castro, Policy & Advocacy Analyst for Latin America The Galapagos Archipelago is a World Heritage Site that inspired the work of the naturalist Charles Darwin. The waters surrounding these...