Ocean Conservation

For Immediate Release, March 18, 2021 Contact: Joanie Steinhaus, Turtle Island Restoration Network, joanie@seaturtles.org, 512-417-7741 Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org, 727-490-9190Kerry Skiff, Defenders of Wildlife, kskiff@defenders.org, 202-772-0253 Congress Urged to Overturn Trump Administration Rule That Prioritizes Oil and Gas Over Protecting Gulf of Mexico Corals WASHINGTON—Turtle Island Restoration...

For Immediate Release, March 16, 2021 Contacts: Preston Brown, preston@seaturtles.org, 303-877-0880Todd Steiner, tsteiner@seaturtles.org, 415-488-7652Audrey Fusco, audrey@seaturtles.org, 415-845-4791 New Pedestrian Bridge Connects Community to Trails on Former Golf Course Ribbon-cutting ceremony to be held on Wednesday, March 17 at 12:30pm PST SAN GERONIMO — A 100-foot pedestrian bridge that will connect...

Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) recently expressed its support to help prevent monarch butterflies from extinction. Joining with over 80 different groups, we called on Congress to provide $100 million annually for the conservation of monarch butterflies. With recent and rapid declines in their populations,...

For Immediate Release, March 1, 2021 Contacts: Wenceslaus Magun, MAKATA, magun.wences@gmail.com Jamie Wilson, Turtle Island Restoration Network, jamie@seaturtles.org Teska Hapig-Ward, Turtle Island Restoration Network, teska@seaturtles.org Company Abandons Controversial Sand Mining Venture on Leatherback Nesting Beach Following Public Backlash  MANDANG PROVINCE, Papua New Guinea (PNG) — A Singaporean sand mining company withdrew...

For Immediate Release, February 26, 2021 Contacts: Rebekah Staub, Turtle Island Restoration Network, rstaub@seaturtles.org  Sudarsha De Silva, Earthlanka, sudarsha@earthlanka.net Turtle Island Restoration Network Awards Funding to Combat Marine Debris SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. — Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) offered a second grant opportunity to nonprofit organizations around the world challenged...

Contact: Joanie Steinhaus, Gulf Program Director, joanie@seaturtles.org  More Than 10,000 Sea Turtles Recorded During Largest Cold Stunning Event in U.S. History GALVESTON, Texas — Right now Texas is experiencing the largest cold stunning event ever recorded in the United States. Cold stunning occurs when sea turtles are exposed...

Contact: Rebekah Staub, Communications Manager, rstaub@seaturtles.org Great.com Interviews Turtle Island Restoration Network About Ocean Conservation and Protecting Endangered Species Emil Ekvardt from Great.com interviewed Mariano Castro, Turtle Island Restoration Network’s  Latin America Legal & Policy Analyst, as part of their ‘Great.com Talks With…’ podcast. This series is an...

For Immediate Release, February 18, 2021 Contact: Lalli Venkatakrishnan, Center for Biological Diversity, (510) 676-0348, lvenkat@biologicaldiversity.org Annalisa Batanides Tuel, Turtle Island Restoration Network, (408) 621-8113, atuel@seaturtles.org Lawsuit Challenges Federal Failure to Update Marine Mammal Assessments SAN FRANCISCO— Turtle Island Restoration Network  and The Center for Biological Diversity sued the federal...

Contact: Audrey Fusco, Native Plant Nursery Manager, audrey@seaturtles.org    SPAWN Plants Habitat Garden at the San Geronimo Valley Community Center In February 2019 the Salmon Protection And Watershed Network (SPAWN) won a pair of state grants to help restore streamside habitat in Marin County, California to prevent erosion....