Ocean Conservation

For Immediate Release, April 13, 2021 Contact: Joanie Steinhaus, joanie@seaturtles.org, 512-417-7741 Galveston Beach Cleaning Lawsuit Dismissed GALVESTON, Texas — The Texas Court of Appeals determined there was no merit to claims made by a beach-cleaning company in Galveston that Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) defamed the company when it...

For Immediate Release, April 9, 2021 Contacts: Todd Steiner, SPAWN, (415) 488-7652, tsteiner@seaturtles.org Peter J. Broderick, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 283-5474 ext. 421, pbroderick@biologicaldiversity.org  Court Rules Marin County’s Protections for Endangered Coho Salmon Inadequate SAN RAFAEL, Calif.— The Marin County Superior Court today ruled that the county in Northern...

For Immediate Release, April 6, 2021 Contacts: Todd Steiner, Turtle Island Restoration Network, tsteiner@tirn.net, (415) 488-7652Chris Eaton, Earthjustice, ceaton@earthjustice.org, (206) 508-7471Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org, (727) 490-9190Jake Bleich, Defenders of Wildlife, jbleich@defenders.org, (510) 882-1592 Groups Sue to Prevent Imperiled Sea Turtles From Drowning in Fishing Nets Government must...

For Immediate Release, April 1, 2021 Contacts: Luis Fonseca, Biologist,  luisfonsecalopez@gmail.com  Mariano Castro, Legal & Policy Analyst, mcastro@seaturtles.org  Video Shows Rare Interaction Between Jaguars and Endangered Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtle SANTA ROSA NATIONAL PARK, Costa Rica — Rare footage released today showcases the relationship between two of Costa Rica’s at-risk...

For Immediate Release, March 29, 2021 Contact: Joanie Steinhaus, Gulf Program Director, joanie@seaturtles.org, 512-417-7741 Turtles About Town to Install 50th Kemp’s Ridley Statue on Galveston Island GALVESTON, Texas — Galveston Island will give a warm welcome to another community member this week as Turtle Island Restoration Network and Clay...

Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) recently joined more than 170 groups in urging Congress to significantly increase the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s budget for endangered species conservation from $291.7 million to $592.1 million. While the Endangered Species Act (ESA) is a strong piece of...