Medium Image

Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) joined a coalition of local, regional, and national environmental and community groups in urging for action to stop deepwater port terminals proposed throughout the Gulf of Mexico, off the Texas and Louisiana coasts. TIRN was just one of over 25...

For Immediate Release, April 14, 2021 Contact: Mariano Castro, Turtle Island Restoration Network, mcastro@seaturtles.org  Turtle Island Restoration Network to Help Expand Cocos Island National Park  SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. — Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) has been invited by Costa Rica’s National Minister for Energy and the Environment to participate...

For Immediate Release, April 13, 2021 Contact: Joanie Steinhaus, joanie@seaturtles.org, 512-417-7741 Galveston Beach Cleaning Lawsuit Dismissed GALVESTON, Texas — The Texas Court of Appeals determined there was no merit to claims made by a beach-cleaning company in Galveston that Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) defamed the company when it...

For Immediate Release, April 9, 2021 Contacts: Todd Steiner, SPAWN, (415) 488-7652, tsteiner@seaturtles.org Peter J. Broderick, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 283-5474 ext. 421, pbroderick@biologicaldiversity.org  Court Rules Marin County’s Protections for Endangered Coho Salmon Inadequate SAN RAFAEL, Calif.— The Marin County Superior Court today ruled that the county in Northern...

For Immediate Release, April 6, 2021 Contacts: Todd Steiner, Turtle Island Restoration Network, tsteiner@tirn.net, (415) 488-7652Chris Eaton, Earthjustice, ceaton@earthjustice.org, (206) 508-7471Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org, (727) 490-9190Jake Bleich, Defenders of Wildlife, jbleich@defenders.org, (510) 882-1592 Groups Sue to Prevent Imperiled Sea Turtles From Drowning in Fishing Nets Government must...

For Immediate Release, April 1, 2021 Contacts: Luis Fonseca, Biologist,  luisfonsecalopez@gmail.com  Mariano Castro, Legal & Policy Analyst, mcastro@seaturtles.org  Video Shows Rare Interaction Between Jaguars and Endangered Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtle SANTA ROSA NATIONAL PARK, Costa Rica — Rare footage released today showcases the relationship between two of Costa Rica’s at-risk...