Masonry

Fish play an important role in mitigating the impacts of climate change! A new scientific study from Rutgers University reports the roughly 1.65 billion tons of carbon in annual marine fish poop makes up about 16 percent of the total carbon that sinks and is stored...

This article, written by César Peñaherrera and Mariano Castro Jiménez, was originally published in La Nación on March 18, 2021. Peñaherrera is the Science Coordinator at MigraMar and scientific advisor for Turtle Island Restoration Network. Jiménez a lawyer and the Latin America Policy & Legal...

The Okinawa dugong is a critically endangered relative of the manatee that needs your help. The United States is expanding a Marine Corps base in the Japanese island’s shallow coastal waters. Building the base will involve filling in and paving over hundreds of acres of rich...

For Immediate Release, March 18, 2021 Contact: Joanie Steinhaus, Turtle Island Restoration Network, joanie@seaturtles.org, 512-417-7741 Jaclyn Lopez, Center for Biological Diversity, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org, 727-490-9190Kerry Skiff, Defenders of Wildlife, kskiff@defenders.org, 202-772-0253 Congress Urged to Overturn Trump Administration Rule That Prioritizes Oil and Gas Over Protecting Gulf of Mexico Corals WASHINGTON—Turtle Island Restoration...

For Immediate Release, March 16, 2021 Contacts: Preston Brown, preston@seaturtles.org, 303-877-0880Todd Steiner, tsteiner@seaturtles.org, 415-488-7652Audrey Fusco, audrey@seaturtles.org, 415-845-4791 New Pedestrian Bridge Connects Community to Trails on Former Golf Course Ribbon-cutting ceremony to be held on Wednesday, March 17 at 12:30pm PST SAN GERONIMO — A 100-foot pedestrian bridge that will connect...

Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) recently signed a letter to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, asking the Service to restore critical bird protections that would be eliminated by a proposed regulation to the Migratory Bird Treaty Act (MBTA). TIRN believes the United States, through the...

For Immediate Release, March 1, 2021 Contacts: Wenceslaus Magun, MAKATA, magun.wences@gmail.com Jamie Wilson, Turtle Island Restoration Network, jamie@seaturtles.org Teska Hapig-Ward, Turtle Island Restoration Network, teska@seaturtles.org Company Abandons Controversial Sand Mining Venture on Leatherback Nesting Beach Following Public Backlash  MANDANG PROVINCE, Papua New Guinea (PNG) — A Singaporean sand mining company withdrew...

For Immediate Release, February 26, 2021 Contacts: Rebekah Staub, Turtle Island Restoration Network, rstaub@seaturtles.org  Sudarsha De Silva, Earthlanka, sudarsha@earthlanka.net Turtle Island Restoration Network Awards Funding to Combat Marine Debris SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. — Turtle Island Restoration Network (TIRN) offered a second grant opportunity to nonprofit organizations around the world challenged...