Author: admin

By Bryce King, Habitat Restoration Intern SPAWN is conducting substrate classification, embeddedness, and scour chain studies to gauge the current redd habitat value for salmonids in Lagunitas Creek. The Salmon Protection And Watershed Network, or SPAWN, is conducting substrate classification, embeddedness, and scour chain studies to gauge...

SPAWN’s California Naturalist Training Course begins February 11 at SPAWN’s headquarters on Golden Gate National Area in Olema. For Immediate Release January 15, 2020 Contact Harry McGrath, (415) 254-7185, hmcgrath@seaturtles.org SPAWN to Offer California Naturalist Training This Winter OLEMA, Calif. — The Salmon Protection And Watershed Network (SPAWN) is offering a...

A female coho in Lagunitas Creek. | Photo by SPAWN For Immediate Release January 10, 2020 Contacts: Todd Steiner, tsteiner@seaturtles.org, 415-488-7652 Preston Brown, preston@seaturtles.org, 303-877-0880 Ayano Hayes, ahayes@seaturtles.org, 916-216-8355 California’s Coho Salmon Spawning Numbers Plummet Marin County Spawning Population Lowest in a Decade OLEMA, Calif. — As this year’s spawning season for Marin County’s coho...

Photo by Pete Winch For Immediate Release January 9, 2020 Contact: Catherine Kilduff, Center for Biological Diversity, (202) 780-8862, CKilduff@BiologicalDiversity.org Todd Steiner, Turtle Island Restoration Network, (415) 488-8752, TSteiner@SeaTurtles.org Petition Seeks California Endangered Species Protections for Leatherback Sea Turtles Ancient Animals Threatened by Trump Administration Revival of Longline Fishing OAKLAND,Calif.— The Center for...

Groups are suing the federal government for failing to protect green sea turtle habitat, which faces threats from sea-level rise, plastic pollution and global warming. FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 8, 2020 Contact: Jaclyn Lopez, (727) 490-9190, jlopez@biologicaldiversity.org Todd Steiner, (415) 488-7652, tsteiner@seaturtles.org Richard Whitecloud, (954) 770-2344, richard.whitecloud@seaturtleop.net Trump Administration Sued for Failing...